Thank You Card – Shaker & Embossing

After the holidays I had lost a little of my creative mojo, and thought that if I created an easy card base, it would lead to getting the creative juices going.

img_2553
I pulled out my Pentel Aquash water brush, Hero Art’s Shimmer Spray, a few Tombow markers, Canson XL watercolor paper, and an acrylic block.

This is one of the easiest method to create a pretty card base without much effort.

img_2554

It’s an easy technique. You scribble using in the Tombow markers. In this case, I drew wavy lines. I sprayed some of the Hero Arts Shimmer Spray on the acrylic block and I dipped the waterbrush into the shimmer spray, brushing over the lines I drew. The watercolor paper and the waterbrush easily blend in creating a shimmery, colorful background. In this case, I went from pink to red to purple.

I repeated the steps using shades of yellow and greens ending up with these two lovely card bases. I started out with 5×7 card bases but then cut them down to an A2 sized card base, 4.25 x 5.5. The best part is that the blending doesn’t have to be perfect at all. You just have to either let it dry naturally or use a heat gun to help the process along.

img_2372

img_2555
Once dry, I prepped the bases with anti-static powder and used Versamark ink with the Avery Elle, Butterflies stamp set. I wanted a really shimmery, glittery card and since the Hero Arts Shimmer spray already gave sparkle to the card base, I wanted to intensify the other aspects of the cards. Recollections Sparkle Embossing Powder was perfect for the butterflies. You can see the different sparkles you get from it in the picture.

img_2556

I used Lawn Fawn’s Stitched Rectangle Frames die to create a frame along with some acetate to make it into a shaker card. Using 2 layers of Scotch’s foam tape around the frame, it allowed space to add extra glitter and sequins to move in the card. I set this on top of some silver glittery paper. There’s never enough glitter right?

When creating the shaker, I decided that I didn’t want any text inside the shaker since there was already so much going on inside. The sentiment had to stand out instead of being lost among the glitter. Using My Favorite Stamps – Blueprint 27’s sentiment tag, I used it to create a wrap around ribbon look. The sentiment anchored the card, giving it a finished look.

fullsizerender

Hope you enjoyed the process! In case you were wondering, I plan to apply the same concept with the pink card base.

Until next time… 

Items Used:

  • Pentel Aquash Waterbrush
  • Hero Arts Shimmer Spray
  • Tombow Markers
    • Pink card: #636, 665, 743, 755, 847
    • Green card: 133, 173, 245, 346
  • Acrylic Block
  • Canson XL Watercolor Paper
  • Recollections Sparkle Embossing Powder – Black
  • Avery Elle, Butterflies
  • Lawn Fawn Stitched Rectangle Frames
  • Versamark Ink
  • EK Tools Anti-Static Powder
  • Scotch Foam Tape
  • Heidi Swapp Glitter Paper
  • My Favorite Things, Blueprint 27
  • Your Next Stamp, Whatnot Sentiments Four
Leave a Reply

